2014 NCAA Div. I 64-Team Bracket Notes

INDIANAPOLIS – The field of 64 teams competing for the 2014 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The national top eight seeds are Oregon State (42-12), Florida (40-21), Virginia (44-13), Indiana (42-13), Florida State (43-15), La.-Lafayette (53-7), TCU (42-15) and LSU (44-14-1). The top eight seed for Indiana marks a first for a Big Ten institution.

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with 10, the most ever for a single conference. The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has seven institutions, while the Big 12 and Pacific-12 Conference each have five selected.

Making the tournament for the first time includes Kennesaw State of the Atlantic Sun Conference and Sacramento State of the Western Athletic Conference. Overall, 32 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami (Florida) is in the field for the 42nd consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 37th straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (23), Rice (20) and South Carolina (15).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 30, to Monday, June 2 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on www.NCAA.com/cws, Monday, June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

The 68th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 14, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

10 (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi St., Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt)
Atlantic Coast 7 (Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Maryland, Miami (Florida), North Carolina, Virginia)
Big 12 5 (Kansas, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech)
Pac-12 5 (Arizona State, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, Washington)
Big West 4 (Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State, UC Irvine)
American Athletic 2 (Houston, Louisville)
Big South 2 (Campbell, Liberty)
Big Ten 2 (Indiana, Nebraska)
Conference USA 2 (Old Dominion, Rice)
Missouri Valley 2 (Dallas Baptist, Indiana State)
Mountain West 2 (San Diego State, UNLV)
Southland 2 (Sam Houston State, Southeastern La.)
America East 1 (Binghamton)
Atlantic-10 1 (George Mason)
Atlantic Sun 1 (Kennesaw State)
Big East 1 (Xavier)
Colonial 1 (College of Charleston)
Horizon 1 (Youngstown State)
Ivy 1 (Columbia)
Metro Atlantic 1 (Siena)
Mid-American 1 (Kent State)
Mid-Eastern 1 (Bethune-Cookman)
Northeast 1 (Bryant)
Ohio Valley 1 (Jacksonville State)
Patriot 1 (Bucknell)
Southern 1 (Georgia Southern)
Southwestern 1 (Jackson State)
Summit 1 (North Dakota State)
Sun Belt 1 (Louisiana-Lafayette)
Western Athletic 1 (Sacramento State)
West Coast 1 (Pepperdine)

America East: Binghamton
American Athletic:

Atlantic Coast: Georgia Tech
Atlantic Sun: Kennesaw State
Atlantic 10: George Mason
Big East: Xavier
Big South: Campbell
Big Ten: Indiana
Big 12: Texas Christian
Big West: Cal Poly
Colonial: Col. of Charleston
Conference USA: Rice
Horizon: Youngstown State
Ivy: Columbia
Metro Atlantic: Siena
Mid-American: Kent State
Mid-Eastern: Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley: Dallas Baptist
Mountain West: San Diego State
Northeast: Bryant
Ohio Valley: Jacksonville State
Pacific-12: Oregon State
Patriot: Bucknell
Southeastern: LSU
Southern: Ga. Southern
Southland: Southeastern La.
Southwestern: Jackson State
Summit: North Dakota State
Sun Belt: La.-Lafayette
West Coast: Pepperdine
Western Athletic: Sacramento State

Alabama: Southeastern
Arizona State: Pacific-12
Arkansas: Southeastern
UC Irvine: Big West
Cal St. Fullerton: Big West
Clemson: Atlantic Coast
Florida: Southeastern
Florida State: Atlantic Coast
Indiana State: Missouri Valley
Kansas: Big 12
Kentucky: Southeastern
Liberty: Big South
Long Beach State: Big West
Louisville: American Athletic
Maryland: Atlantic Coast
Miami (Fla.): Atlantic Coast
Nebraska: Big Ten
UNLV: Mountain West
North Carolina: Atlantic Coast
Mississippi: Southeastern
Mississippi State: Southeastern
Oklahoma State: Big 12
Old Dominion: Conference USA
Oregon: Pacific-12
Sam Houston State: Southland
South Carolina: Southeastern
Stanford: Pacific-12
Texas: Big 12
Texas A&M: Southeastern
Texas Tech: Big 12
Vanderbilt: Southeastern
Virginia: Atlantic Coast
Washington: Pacific-12

Leave a Reply