Kuhn Named National Pitching Coach Of Year

Karl Kuhn

Karl Kuhn has been named Collegiate Baseball newspaper’s 2014 National Pitching Coach of The Year.

Sponsored by EDGE charting software and web stats, the award is in its 12th year.

The University of Virginia pitching coach will receive the award at the American Baseball Coaches Association Convention in Orlando, Fla. Jan. 4 at the Orlando World Center Marriott.

Entering his 12th season with the Cavaliers, Kuhn has been a pitching coach for 23 years.

Since 2005, the Cavaliers own a 3.04 cumulative ERA, lowest in the nation.

His staff has ranked among the top 20 teams nationally in ERA nine of the last 11 years, including a No. 1 ranking in 2011 and a No. 2 standing in 2014 when UVa posted the lowest ERA at UVa in 40 years.

The Cavaliers also have racked up four No. 3 national ERA rankings (2005, 2006, 2007, 2009) during Kuhn’s tenure.

During Kuhn’s tenure at Virginia, his pitchers have produced 75 shutouts, including an ACC-record 16 in 2011. The Cavaliers also have boasted a league-high 26 ACC Pitchers of the Week during the last 10 years.

Kuhn’s pitchers are notorious for pounding the strike zone, averaging just 2.8 walks per nine innings since 2004 – fewest in the ACC.

Four of Kuhn’s UVa protégés have gone on to reach the major league level, including Michael Schwimer, Mike Ballard, Sean Doolittle and Kyle Crockett.

Thirty-one of Kuhn’s Virginia pitchers have been selected in the Major League Baseball Draft, including 15 in the top 10 rounds.

An in-depth story on the pitching philosophy of Kuhn will appear in the Jan. 2, 2015 College Baseball National Preview edition. To subscribe or reserve a copy of that issue, CLICK HERE.

Previous National Pitching Coaches of The Year:

2013: Nate Yeskie (Oregon St.)

2012: Shaun Cole (Arizona)

2011: Phil Cundari (Seton Hall)

2010: Mark Calvi (South Carolina)

2009: Jerry Weinstein (Sacramento City College/Colorado Rockies)

2008: Dan Spencer (Oregon St., Texas Tech.)

2007: Scott Forbes (North Carolina)

2006: Gordie Alderink (Grand Valley St.)

2005: Tom Holliday (Texas/North Carolina St.)

2004: Derek Johnson (Vanderbilt)

2003: Mark McQueen (VCU/Richmond)