Bianco Named CB’s National Coach Of Year

TUCSON, Ariz. — University of Mississippi head baseball coach Mike Bianco has been named Collegiate Baseball’s National Coach of The Year.

He led the  Rebels to their first national baseball title by beating Oklahoma two straight in the Championship Finals of the College World Series enroute to a 42-23 overall record.

It marks the second time in three years Bianco has been named Collegiate Baseball’s National Coach of The Year after also winning the honor in 2020 after leading Ole Miss to a 16-1 record in a COVID-19 shortened season. After losing their first game of the season, the Rebels won their next 16 games before the season ended.

It is the fourth consecutive year a coach from the Southeastern Conference has been named National Coach of The Year by Collegiate Baseball.

Chris Lemonis (Mississippi St., 2021) and Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt, 2019) also won the award after leading their teams to national championships.

During the six games the Rebels played at the College World Series, the Rebels led all teams with a 2.00 ERA and struck out 64 batters while only walking 14 batters over 54 innings. The person calling all of those pitches was none other than Bianco.

Ole Miss batters hit a CWS-high 9 home runs while the defense only allowed 1 stolen base in 2 attempts.

The Rebels hit a school record 108 home runs this season in 65 games.

Ole Miss struggled in the talent-rich Southeastern Conference with a 14-16 league record which was tied for the eighth best record.

The Rebels were the last team invited to the NCAA tournament as an at-large team and caught fire at the right time winning 10 of its 11 games in the NCAA playoffs.

In 22 seasons leading the program, Bianco has delivered 18 post-season appearances, including eight Super Regional berths and two trips to the College World Series. He has racked up 854 victories.

Those wins are the most in Rebel baseball history and rank third all-time among coaches in the SEC. He also stands as the winningest and longest-active coach in the SEC among the sports of baseball, men’s basketball and football. The Rebels have reached the 30-win plateau in each of Bianco’s 21 full seasons, including ten 40-win campaigns. 

The Rebels posted three straight 40-win seasons from 2005-07 for the first time in school history and have hit the program record of 48 wins three times, most recently a 48-17 (.738) season in 2018, which came as the best win percentage by a Rebel team in the past 48 seasons.

That 48-win campaign set in motion four 40-win seasons in 2018, 2019, 2021 and 2022.

Previous Collegiate Baseball National Coaches of The Year include:

  • 2021: Chris Lemonis, Mississippi St.
  • 2020: Mike Bianco, Mississippi
  • 2019: Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt
  • 2018: Pat Casey, Oregon St.
  • 2017: Kevin O’Sullivan, Florida
  • 2016: Gary Gilmore, Coastal Carolina
  • 2015: Brian O’Connor, Virginia
  • 2014: Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt
  • 2013: John Savage, UCLA
  • 2012: Andy Lopez, Arizona
  • 2011: Ray Tanner, South Carolina
  • 2010: Ray Tanner, South Carolina
  • 2009: Paul Mainieri, Louisiana St.
  • 2008: Mike Batesole, Fresno St.
  • 2007: Pat Casey, Oregon St.
  • 2006: Pat Casey, Oregon St.
  • 2005: Augie Garrido, Texas
  • 2004: George Horton, Cal. St. Fullerton
  • 2003: Wayne Graham, Rice
  • 2002: Augie Garrido, Texas
  • 2001: Jim Morris, Miami (Fla.)
  • 2000: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
  • 1999: Jim Morris, Miami (Fla.)
  • 1998: Mike Gillespie, Southern Calif.
                Mike Batesole, Cal. St. Northridge
  • 1997: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
  • 1996: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.,
                 Andy Lopez, Florida
  • 1995: Augie Garrido, Cal. St. Fullerton
  • 1994: Larry Cochell, Oklahoma
  • 1993: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
  • 1992: Andy Lopez, Pepperdine
  • 1991: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
  • 1990: Steve Webber, Georgia
  • 1989: Dave Snow, Long Beach St.
  • 1988: Larry Cochell, Cal. St. Fullerton
  • 1987: Mark Marquess, Stanford
  • 1986: Jerry Kindall, Arizona
  • 1985: Ron Fraser, Miami (Fla.)
  • 1984: Augie Garrido, Cal. St. Fullerton
  • 1983: Cliff Gustafson, Texas
  • 1982: Ron Fraser, Miami (Fla.)
  • 1981: Jim Brock, Arizona St.
  • 1980: Jerry Kindall, Arizona