Collegiate Baseball HS Poll (6-20-19)


TUCSON, Ariz. — Argyle (TX) is the 2019 national champion in Collegiate Baseball’s final 2019 National High School Poll presented by Diamond Pro.

The Eagles finished 40-1-1 as they captured the Texas 4A championship by beating Sweeney (TX), 6-3. This is the second year in a row that Argyle has finished No. 1 team in the country by Collegiate Baseball.

Argyle was ranked No. 1 in Collegiate Baseball’s 2019 pre-season poll.

In the past two seasons, the Eagles have lost only once in the last 79 games. This season, they finished with 28 wins in a row.

Argyle posted a .340 team batting average this year and averaged 8.6 runs per game with 106 stolen bases. The pitching staff had a 2.49 ERA.

The Eagles previously beat Canon (TX), 9-0 and 19-1, Iowa Park (TX), 2-0 and 2-0 and La Vernia (TX), 16-0 before reaching the title game.

No. 2 DeSoto Central (Southaven, MS) — Mississippi 6A state champs.

No. 3 New Hanover (Wilmington, NC) — North Carolina 3A state champs.

No. 4 Barbe (Lake Charles, LA) — Louisiana 5A state champs.

No. 5 Cypress (Cypress, CA) — CIF Southern Section D1 champs.

No. 6 De La Salle (Concord, CA) — CIF North Coast D1 champs.

No. 7 Colleyville Heritage (Colleyville, TX) completed its season by defeating Georgetown (TX), 14-2 and claiming the Texas 5A state title.

MVP for the game 2B Joey Koetting finished 2-for-2 with a walk and three-run double. He also scored three times.

Heritage’s 14 runs were the most Georgetown had yielded in 47 games. Heritage finished the season 39-3.

No. 8 Blanchard (OK) — Oklahoma 4A state champs.

No. 9 Farragut (Knoxville, TN) — TSSAA 3A state champs.

No. 10 Calvary Christian (Clearwater, FL) — Florida 4A state champs.

No. 11 Valley Christian (San Jose, CA) — CIF Central Coast champions.

No. 12 Parkview (Lilburn, GA) — Georgia 7A state champions.

No. 13 Delbarton (Morristown, NJ) beat St. Augustine (Richland, NJ), 4-3 for the NJSIAA Non-Public- A championship. Jack Leiter tossed 6 1/3 innings, allowing 3 runs, one earned, walking 4 and striking out 7. Delbarton completed the season 26-3.

No. 14 Jesuit (Tampa, FL) — Florida 6A state champions.

No. 15 Southlake Carroll (Southlake, TX) defeated Fort Bend Ridge Point, 17-0 in five innings to win the Texas 6A state title.

The Dragons (33-11) set the 6A state tournament record for runs in a game and runs in one inning when they scored 11 times in the third. Carroll had 17 batters go to the plate and got four hits and three Ridge Point errors to score the 11 runs. Pitcher Joe Steeber earned the win, allowing four hits and had five strikeouts.

Carroll graduated 22 seniors from the 2018 team and did not have a single starter for this season’s team. They were not considered a team that could repeat as state champions this year.

This title game brought Head Coach Larry Vucan his 100th career victory with the Dragons.

No. 16 Georgetown (TX) lost to Colleyville Heritage, 14-2 in the championship game and finished the season 41-5-1.

No. 17 Benedictine (Richmond, VA) — Virginia D1 champions.

No. 18 Desert Oasis (Las Vegas, NV) — Nevada 4A state champions.

No. 19 Volcano Vista (Albuquerque, NM) — New Mexico 5A state champions.

No. 20 Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) — Arizona 6A state champions.

No. 21 Regis Jesuit (Aurora, CO) — Colorado 5A state champions.

No. 22 Andrean (Merrillville, IN) finished as the 3A state champions after defeating Edgewood, 2-1. This is back-to-back state titles for the Fighting 59ers and their seventh overall state championship.

Coach Dave Pishkur’s father passed away the day before the title game after several years of declining health. The team told several news outlets that they were playing for him and their coach’s family.

Michael Doolin eclipsed the 3A state final record of 13 strikeouts which he set last season. He allowed one run on four hits and a walk with 15 strikeouts in the game. Andrean finished the season 36-1.

No. 23 Venice (FL) — Florida 7A state champions.

No. 24 Tattnall Square Academy (Macon, GA) — Georgia Single A Private champions.

No. 25 Lake Travis (Austin, TX) was knocked out of the tournament in the semi-finals by eventual champions, Southlake Carroll, 6-2. They finished 37-5.

No. 26 Edwardsville (IL) defeated St. Charles North (IL), 3-2 in 8 innings for the Illinois 4A state title.

Two defensive errors by St. Charles North allowed the go-ahead run for the Tigers. Edwardsville’s Collin Salter came in for relief and retired North’s batters 1-2-3 to end the game.

The title game was the 700th victory for Head Coach Tim Funkhouser and the third state title for the school. The Tigers finished 36-5.

No. 27 McGill-Toolen (Mobile, AL) won its first state 7A baseball championship by beating Bob Jones twice in a three-game series. In the final game, they won 7-6 and finished the season 32-8-1.

No. 28 St. Laurence (Burbank, IL) finished as the runners-up in the IHSA 3A state championships after losing to Montini, 6-3. They completed their season with a 35-6 record.

No. 29 Harvard-Westlake (Studio City, CA) — Runners-up in CIF Southern Section Division 1.

No. 30 Sam Houston (Lake Charles, LA) — Runners up in Louisiana 5A.

Teams that fell out of the poll include Cypress Ranch (Cypress, TX) 34-6-1 F, St. Thomas Aquinas (Fort Lauderdale, FL) 24-4 F and Mosley (Lynn Haven, FL) 25-4 F.


(As of June 20, 2019)

Rank School    City/State Record
  1. Argyle (Argyle, TX) 40-1-1 F
  2. DeSoto Central (Southaven, MS) 34-3 F
  3. New Hanover (Wilmington, NC) 28-2 F
  4. Barbe (Lake Charles, LA) 38-3 F
  5. Cypress (Cypress, CA) 31-3 F
  6. De La Salle (Concord, CA) 29-1 F
  7. Colleyville Heritage (Colleyville, TX) 39-3 F
  8. Blanchard (Blanchard, OK) 39-0 F
  9. Farragut (Knoxville, TN) 42-3 F
10. Calvary Christian (Clearwater, FL) 26-4 F
11. Valley Christian (San Jose, CA) 29-4 F
12. Parkview (Lilburn, GA) 35-4 F
13. Delbarton (Morristown, NJ) 26-3 F
14. Jesuit (Tampa, FL) 27-5 F
15. Carroll (Southlake, TX) 33-11 F
16. Georgetown (Georgetown, TX) 41-5-1 F
17. Benedictine (Richmond, VA) 28-2 F
18. Desert Oasis (Las Vegas, NV) 34-8 F
19. Volcano Vista (Albuquerque, NM) 25-5 F
20. Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) 26-7 F
21. Regis Jesuit (Aurora, CO) 25-6 F
22. Andrean (Merrillville, IN) 36-1 F
23. Venice (Venice, FL) 26-6 F
24. Tattnall Square Academy (Macon, GA) 35-4 F
25. Lake Travis (Austin, TX) 37-5 F
26. Edwardsville (Edwardsville, IL) 36-5 F
27. McGill-Toolen (Mobile, AL) 32-8-1 F
28. St. Laurence (Burbank, IL) 35-6 F
29. Harvard-Westlake (Studio City, CA) 27-6-1 F
30. Sam Houston (Lake Charles, LA) 37-5 F