Collegiate Baseball HS Poll (6-22-22)


TUCSON, Ariz. — St. Mary’s Prep (Orchard Lake, MI) finished undefeated with a 44-0 record and remains No. 1 in Collegiate Baseball’s final National High School Poll of 2022 powered by Diamond Pro.

The Eaglets maintained the top position in the poll for the entire 2022 season over 10 polls.

St. Mary’s has won 66 consecutive games over the past two seasons and is tied at No. 7 in the National Federation of High School Sports record book with Capitol Hill (Oklahoma City, OK) which recorded 66 straight wins from 1952-1954.

The Eaglets defeated Grosse Pointe North (Grosse Pointe Woods, MI), 1-0 in the Michigan Division 1 championship game. It was the team’s third straight state title after winning in Division 2 in 2019 and 2021.

Nolan Schubart scored the only run of the game in the first inning. Then it turned into a pitcher’s duel.

North’s sophomore pitcher Brennan Hill held the Eaglets to three hits, one walk and struck out 9. St. Mary’s starter Ciaran Caughey went 5 ½ scoreless innings, allowing only three hits, two walks and struck out 9. Well executed plays kept the game tight.

St. Mary’s advanced to the championship game behind the pitching of Brock Porter who no-hit Forest Hills Northern (Grand Rapids, MI) to win 9-0. Porter went the distance, striking out six and walking two. It was his third no-hitter of the year.

Additionally, the Eaglets defense did not commit an error behind him.

No. 2 Stoneman Douglas (Parkland, FL) 30-2 F, Florida 7A state champions.

No. 3 Sumrall (MS) 35-1 F, Mississippi 4A state champions.

No. 4 Providence (Charlotte, NC) 34-0 F, North Carolina 4A state champions.

No. 5 North Oconee (Bogart, GA) 39-1 F, Georgia 4A state champions.

No. 6 Northwest Rankin (Brandon, MS) 34-3 F, Mississippi 6A state champions.

No. 7 De La Salle (Concord, CA) 27-6 F, CIF NorCal Division 1 champion.

No. 8 Georgetown (TX) won the program’s first 5A state title by defeating Friendswood (TX), 2-1.

Pitcher Jacob Hadden went the distance allowing just four hits and striking out four. The Eagles completed the season 34-7.

No. 9 Huntington Beach (CA) 25-9 F, CIF Southern Division 1 Regional champions.

No. 10. Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) 29-4 F, Arizona 6A state champs.

No. 11 Hanover (Mechanicsville, VA) 23-2 F, Virginia 4A state champs.

No. 12 Sinton (T) beat Argyle (TX), 9-0 to capture the Texas 4A state title and win the program’s first state baseball title in 20 years.

In the third inning of the game, Sinton sent 13 batters to the plate and scored 7 runs to advance the game. Kaden McCoy hit a two-run triple.

In the final seven games of the tournament, Sinton outscored opponents 67-1. The Pirates finished 36-1.

No. 13 Hartselle (AL) 39-4 F, Alabama 6A state champions.

No. 14 Doral Academy (Doral, FL) 26-4-1 F, Florida 6A champs.

No. 15 West Monroe (LA) 33-4 F, Louisiana 5A state champions.

No. 16 Charlotte Christian (Charlotte, NC) 30-3 F, 4A NCISAA champs.

No. 17 Carlsbad (NM) 27-4 F, New Mexico 5A state champions.

No. 18 Southlake Carroll (Southlake, TX) won its third 6A state title since 2018 by defeating Reagan (San Antonio, TX), 8-5. This was the Dragons’ fifth state baseball championship in the program’s history.

Carroll (34-8) came back from an early deficit in the game. The hitters scored three runs in the fourth to take the lead and hung on to it. Owen Proksch helped by pitching three straight scoreless innings, from the third to the fifth, to halt Reagan’s offense.

Proksch, who was named the game’s MVP, went 5.2 innings, struck out nine and gave up three earned runs on four hits. He went 2-for-4 at the plate with 2 RBI.

No. 19 Don Bosco (Ramsey, NJ) defeated top-ranked favorite St. Augustine Prep, 5-0 to win the NJSIAA Non-Public A championship. It is the first state title the Ironmen have won since its 33-0 season of 2008.

Clayton Polley started the game and allowed two hits in the first four innings. Caden Dana took over the mound and permitted one hit in the last three. Dana also belted the clinching home run in the sixth inning.

Don Bosco finished 24-5.

No. 20 Pope (Marietta, GA) beat Allatoona (GA), 10-0 and 9-2 to win the Georgia 6A title. It is the third state championship in the last 6 years and fifth title in the program’s history.

The Greyhounds had an impressive four-game streak to end the season by sweeping Buford, 8-5 and 8-4, then beating rival Allatoona. They completed the season with a 33-7 record.

No. 21 Edwardsville (IL) defeated Mundelein (IL), 4-3 to capture the IHSA 4A state title. It was the program’s fourth championship in program history.

The Tigers defeated highly touted Brother Rice (Chicago, IL) 7-4 in the semi-finals to advance to the final game. They were led by seniors RHP/3B spencer Stearns, C/OF Grant Huebner and RHP/INF Gannon Burns.

They finished 36-4.

No. 22 Northview (Sylvania, OH) beat Grove City (OH), 6-1 for the Ohio Division 1 title.

Pitcher Blake Bradford went the distance and allowed one run on four hits and struck out six. After trailing 1-0 through the third inning, the Wildcats started scoring in the fourth and fifth innings to advance in the game.

They completed the season 21-8.

No. 23 George Washington (New York, NY) lost the PSAL AAA title game to James Monroe (Bronx, NY), 6-4.

In the playoff run, the team was led by pitcher Leonardo Espinal. He posted a 2-0 record during the playoffs with 4 earned runs and 15 strikeouts in 20.1 innings. He struck out 7 in the championship game in 7 innings.

George Washington completed the season with a 31-5 record.

No. 24 Rockwall-Heath (Heath, TX) bowed out of the Texas 6A playoffs after losing to Reagan (San Antonio, TX), 8-5. They finished 32-7.

No. 25 Berkeley Prep (Tampa, FL) 28-4, runners-up in Florida 3A.

No. 26 Legacy (Broomfield, CO) 27-4 F, runners-up in Colorado 5A.

No. 27 JSerra Catholic (San Juan Capistrano, CA) 25-11 F, runners-up in CIF Southern Section Div. 1 Region.

No. 28 Orange Lutheran (Orange, CA) 25-5 F, knocked out of CIF Southern Section tournament.

No. 29 Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas, NV) 35-6 F, runners-up in Nevada 5A.

No. 30 Blythewood (SC) 30-3 F, runners-up in South Carolina’s Upper State championships.


(June 22, 2022)

Rank School    City/State 2022 Record
  1. St. Mary’s Prep (Orchard Lake, MI) 44-0 F
  2. Stoneman Douglas (Parkland, FL) 30-2 F
  3. Sumrall (Sumrall, MS) 35-1 F
  4. Providence (Charlotte, NC) 34-0 F
  5. North Oconee (Bogart, GA) 39-1 F
  6. Northwest Rankin (Brandon, MS) 34-3 F
  7. De La Salle (Concord, CA) 27-6 F
  8. Georgetown (Georgetown, TX) 34-7 F
  9. Huntington Beach (Huntington Beach, CA) 25-9 F
10. Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) 29-4 F
11. Hanover (Mechanicsville, VA) 23-2 F
12. Sinton (Sinton, TX) 36-1 F
13. Hartselle (Hartselle, AL) 39-4 F
14. Doral Academy (Doral, FL) 26-4-1 F
15. West Monroe (West Monroe, LA) 33-4 F
16. Charlotte Christian (Charlotte, NC) 30-3 F
17. Carlsbad (Carlsbad, NM) 27-4 F
18. Edwardsville (Edwardsville, IL) 36-4 F
19. Southlake Carroll (Southlake, TX) 34-8 F
20. Don Bosco (Ramsey, NJ) 24-5 F
21. Pope (Marietta, GA) 33-7 F
22. Northview (Sylvania, OH) 21-8 F
23. George Washington (New York, NY) 31-5 F
24. Rockwall-Heath (Heath, TX) 32-7 F
25. Berkeley Prep (Tampa, FL) 28-4 F
26. Legacy (Broomfield, CO) 27-4 F
27. JSerra Catholic (San Juan Capistrano, CA) 25-11 F
28. Orange Lutheran (Orange, CA) 25-5 F
29. Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas, NV) 35-6 F
30. Blythewood (Blythewood, SC) 30-3 F