Collegiate Baseball HS Poll (6-23-23)


TUCSON, Ariz. — Barbe (Lake Charles, LA) is No. 1 in Collegiate Baseball’s final 2023 National High School Poll, powered by Diamond Pro, after posting a 39-1 record.

The Buccaneers, No. 1 for the seven straight polls to finish the season, won the Louisiana Non-Select Division 1 state championship and had their best record in school history. They won 20 straight games to close the season.

Barbe capped a remarkable season by defeating West Monroe (LA), 10-4 to win its third state title in four years and 12th state championship overall.

Barbe posted a team batting average of .368 and a team ERA of 0.89 with a record 20 shutouts. The team stole 188 bases, recorded 92 doubles, 21 triples (a school record) and 28 home runs. They averaged 8.9 runs per game.

No. 2 Stoneman Douglas (Parkland, FL) — 29-0 F, Florida 7A state champs.

No. 3 Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas, NV) — 35-2 F, Nevada 5A state champs.

No. 4 Magnolia Heights (Senatobia, MS) — 40-3 F, MAIS 5A champs.

No. 5 De La Salle (Concord, CA) 27-5 F, CIF Nor Cal D1 Regional champs.

No. 6 Glenwood (Phenix City, AL) — 46-4 F, Alabama 3A state champs.

No. 7 Archbishop Moeller (Cincinnati, OH) won the Ohio Division 1 state championship after defeating Olentangy Orange, 4-1.

Toby Hueber tossed five shutout innings in the game and increased his career wins at Moeller to 25. He also went 2-for-4 in the game, knocked in a key run with a sacrifice fly and stole two bases. The Fighting Crusaders won 27 of its last 28 games and finished 31-3.

No. 8 Houston County (Warner Robins, GA) — 36-6 F, Georgia 6A champions.

No. 9 China Springs (TX) was crowned Texas 4A state champions after defeating Liberty-Eylau, 3-2 in 12 innings and finishing 37-5-1.

The Cougars stuck it out for two games after going 12 innings in the semi-finals against Sinton to advance to the championship game.

China Spring’s Trevor Black tossed 4 1/3 innings in the title game, giving up one earned run one two hits while striking out three. JC Hughes came in for relieve and threw 5 1/3 innings of one-run ball before being pulled in the 10th for Jayden Honey, who got the final two outs. The final run was scored when Jacob Klement was walked with the bases loaded. It is the Cougars’ first state baseball title since 2000.

No. 10 St. John’s (Washington, DC) — 30-1-1, WCAC champions.

No. 11 Flower Mound (TX) captured the Texas 6A state title after defeating Pearland, 6-4. The Jaguars were the only team in the 6A state tournament who was not ranked in Texas HS Coaches’ statewide poll. Adrian Rodriguez hit a two-run homer in the title game and was named tournament MVP. They finished 37-10-2 and it was the Jaguars second state baseball title.

No. 12 Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) — 26-5 F, Arizona 6A champs.

No. 13 Eaton (CO) — 29-0 F, Colorado 3A champions.

No. 14 American Heritage (Plantation, FL) — 21-6 F, Florida 5A champions.

No. 15 Calvary Christian (Clearwater, FL) — 28-4 F, Florida 3A champions.

No. 16 Sinton (TX) lost in the semi-finals to China Springs, 8-4 in 12 innings. They completed the season with a 37-4 record.

No. 17 Har-Ber (Springdale, AR) — 28-6 F, Arkansas 6A champions.

No. 18 Cypress Woods (Cypress, TX) lost in the semi-finals to Flower Mound, 6-3 and finished 38-5.

No. 19 Westlake (Austin, TX) was knocked out of the Texas 6A tournament by Pearland, 11-1 and finished 40-5.

No. 20 Jesuit (Tampa, FL) — 27-5 F, Florida 5A runners up.

No. 21 JSerra Catholic (San Juan Capistrano, CA) — 24-9 F, CIF Southern Section Division 1 champs.

No. 22 Jackson Prep (Jackson, MS) — 31-4 F, Mississippi 6A champs.

No. 23 Loganville (GA) — 33-8 F, Georgia 5A champs.

No. 24 Santa Margarita (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA) — 29-7 F, CIF SoCal Regional champions.

No. 25 Farragut (Knoxville, TN) 36-8 F, Tennessee 4A champions.

No. 26 James Madison (Vienna, VA) defeated Westfield (Chantilly, VA), 5-4 for the VHSL Class 6 state title. They finished 23-5.

No. 27 Sickles (Citrus Park, FL) — 30-2 F, Florida 6A champions.

No. 28 Lincoln East (Lincoln, NE) — 31-4 F, Nebraska Class A champs.

No. 29 Liberty North (Liberty, MO) 34-7 F, Missouri 6A champions.

No. 30 Penn (Miskawaka, IN) captured its second straight Indiana 4A state title after defeating top-ranked Center Grove, 2-0. This was the Kingsmen’s sixth state baseball title. Adam Lehmann was masterful, going six innings allowing three hits and striking out 10. Dawson French came in for relief in the seventh to complete the shutout. They finished 27-8.

Teams that fell from the top 30 include Lake Braddock (Burke, VA) 24-3 F; St. Mary’s Prep (Orchard Lake, MI) 33-6 F; Bishop Hendricken (Warwick, RI) 23-4 F; and Cardinal Newman (Santa Rosa, CA) 28-2 F.


(June 23, 2023)

Rank School    City/State 2023 Record
  1. Barbe (Lake Charles, LA) 39-1 F
  2. Stoneman Douglas (Parkland, FL) 29-0 F
  3. Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas, NV) 35-2 F
  4. Magnolia Heights (Senatobia, MS) 40-3 F
  5. De La Salle (Concord, CA) 27-5 F
  6. Glenwood (Phenix City, AL) 46-4 F
  7. Archbishop Moeller (Cincinnati, OH) 31-3 F
  8. Houston County (Warner Robins, GA) 36-6 F
  9. China Springs (China Springs, TX) 37-5-1 F
10. St. John’s (Washington, DC) 30-1-1 F
11. Flower Mound (Flower Mound, TX) 37-10-2 F
12. Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) 26-5 F
13. Eaton (Eaton, CO) 29-0 F
14. American Heritage (Plantation, FL) 21-6 F
15. Calvary Christian (Clearwater, FL) 28-4 F
16. Sinton (Sinton, TX) 37-4 F
17. Har-Ber (Springdale, AR) 28-6 F
18. Cypress Woods (Cypress, TX) 38-5 F
19. Westlake (Austin, TX) 40-5 F
20. Jesuit (Tampa, FL) 27-5 F
21. JSerra Catholic (San Juan Capistrano, CA) 24-9 F
22. Jackson Prep (Jackson, MS) 31-4 F
23. Loganville (Loganville, GA) 33-8 F
24. Santa Margarita (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA) 29-7 F
25. Farragut (Knoxville, TN) 36-8 F
26. James Madison (Vienna, VA) 23-5 F
27. Sickles (Citrus Park, FL) 30-2 F
28. Lincoln East (Lincoln, NE) 31-4 F
29. Liberty North (Liberty, MO) 34-7 F
30. Penn (Miskawaka, IN) 27-8 F