Collegiate Baseball HS Poll (6-4-19)


TUCSON, Ariz. — With 26 wins in a row, Argyle (TX) remains No. 1 in Collegiate Baseball’s National High School Poll presented by Diamond Pro.

The Eagles are 38-1-1 as they continue to roll through the Texas 4A state tournament. They are among the final four teams vying for the state title. Over the past two seasons, Argyle has lost only once in the last 77 games.

The Eagles defeated Canyon (TX), 9-0 and 19-1 and Iowa Park (TX), 2-0 and 2-0 and are scheduled to play La Vernia (TX) next.

In the second game against Iowa Park, pitcher Chad Ricker tossed a no-hitter, going 7 innings and striking out 4. He previously tossed three consecutive no-hitters heading into the state tournament.

No. 2 DeSoto Central (Southhaven, MS) — Mississippi 6A state champs.

No. 3 New Hanover (Wilmington, NC) completed the season as North Carolina 3A state champs. This is back-to-back state titles for the Wildcats who ended with a 28-2 record. They beat Marvin Ridge, 7-3 and 4-0. RHP/3B Alex Sniffen was named the tournament MVP.

No. 4 Barbe (Lake Charles, LA) — Louisiana 5A state champs.

No. 5 Cypress (CA) — CIF Southern Section Division 1 champs.

No. 6 De La Salle (Concord, CA) beat Heritage (CA), 10-1 to capture the CIF North Coast Section Division 1 title. The Spartans posted a 29-1 record.

No. 7 Georgetown (TX) advanced to the Texas 5A state semi-finals with a 40-4-1 record. In a three-game series against Magnolia West (TX), Georgetown lost the first game 2-1 and won the next two 9-6 and 1-0. They will face Pioneer (Mission, TX) next.

No. 8 Blanchard (OK) — Oklahoma 4A state champs.

No. 9 Farragut (Knoxville, TN) defeated Bradley Central (TN), 7-3 to capture the TSSAA 3A state title. Ryan Hagenow tossed a complete 7-inning game and struck out 11. Overall he went 5-0 in the post-season, posting a 0.94 ERA, 35 strikeouts, 5 walks in 29.2 innings. For the year, the Admiral pitching staff posted a 1.74 team ERA.

Farragut completed the season 42-3 and won 35 of its last 36 games and went 10-1 in the post-season. The last time the Admirals won the state title was in 2014 and have won 10 titles overall.

No. 10 is Calvary Christian (Clearwater, FL) which defeated American Heritage (Delray Beach, FL), 2-1 to win the Florida 4A state title. They completed the season 26-4.

No. 11 Lake Travis (Austin, TX) heads into the Texas 6A semi-finals with a 37-4 record. They will play Southlake Carroll next.

Lake Travis defeated Alexander (Laredo, TX), 3-2 and 3-0 to advance.

No. 12 Colleyville Heritage (TX) advanced to the Texas 5A semi-finals  with a 37-3 record. They beat Monterey (TX), 6-3 and 6-3 to advance. They will meet Corsicana (TX) next.

No. 13. Valley Christian (San Jose, CA) beat Archbishop Mitty, 2-0 to capture its third straight CIF Central Coast Section title and 9th title since 2000. William Kempner and Steven Zobac combined for a one-hitter in the title game. Zobac also had both RBIs in the game as he hit a double in the third inning to score two runners. The championship win marked Coach John Diatte’s 650th career win in his 30 years at the school.

No. 14 Parkview (Lilburn, GA) — Georgia 7A champs.

No. 15 Delbarton (Morristown, NJ) is 25-3 after winning the county, conference and North Non-Public A state title. They advance to play the South division champs St. Augustine Prep in the overall state championship game.

The Green Wave defeated Don Bosco Prep, 2-0 to win its third consecutive North division title. Aiden Kane belted a two-run triple in the sixth inning while starting LHP Jack Leiter went 6 2/3 innings, allowing only three hits.

No. 16 is Jesuit (Tampa, FL) which defeated Dunedin (FL), 4-3 to capture the Florida 6A title. For the 8th straight year, Jesuit won its district title to advance into the state playoffs.

No. 17 Benedictine (Richmond, VA) — Virginia Division 1 champs.

No. 18 St. Laurence (Burbank, IL) advanced to the Super Sectionals after beating Joliet Catholic, 5-4. They are 31-5 and will face De La Salle (IL) next.

No. 19 Desert Oasis (Las Vegas, NV) — Nevada 4A champs.

No. 20 Volcano Vista (Albuquerque, NM) — New Mexico 5A champs.

No. 21 Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) — Arizona 6A champs.

No. 22 Regis Jesuit (Aurora, CO) defeated Cherry Creek (CO), 8-3 to win the Colorado 5A state title. They completed the season 25-6

No. 23 Andrean (Merrillville, IN) advanced to the state’s 3A semi-finals and will play Yorktown (IN). They are 34-1.

No. 24 Venice (Venice, FL) captured the Florida 7A state championship by defeating Doral Academy (FL), 3-2. The Indians rallied for three runs in the 6th inning to win the game. It was their program’s 6th state title and the second time Venice has gone back-to-back. They finished 26-6.

No. 25 Tattnall Square Academy (Macon, GA) won back-to-back Single A Private titles after beating Savannah Christian, 11-1 and 11-0. They finished 35-3. RHP/3B Brooks Gorman set the single season school record for wins going 15-1 with a 0.96 ERA, 125 strikeouts, 23 walks in 94 2/3 innings. At the plate, he hit .465 and led the team in doubles with 11.

No. 26 Cypress Ranch (Cypress, TX) was knocked out of the state tournament by Boyd, losing 1-0 and 8-3. They finished 34-6-1.

No. 27 St. Thomas Aquinas (Fort Lauderdale, FL) lost in the Regional Final to McArthur (FL), 2-0 and finished 24-4.

No. 28 Mosley (Lynn Haven, FL) lost to Dunedin (FL), 7-4 and was knocked out of the Florida 6A tournament. They finished 25-4.

No. 29 Harvard-Westlake (Studio City, CA) — CIF southern Section Division 1 runners up.

No. 30 Sam Houston (Lake Charles, LA) — Louisiana 5A runners up.

Teams that fell out of the poll include Mountain Vista (Highlands Ranch, CO) 26-4 F, Orange Lutheran (Orange, CA) 27-5 F, Jackson (Massillon, OH) 25-4 F, Walsh Jesuit (Cuyahoga Falls, OH) 22-4 F, American Heritage (Delray Beach, FL) 29-3 F and Saint Xavier (Louisville, KY) 28-7 F.


(June 4, 2019)

Rank School    City/State 2019 Record
  1. Argyle (Argyle, TX) 38-1-1
  2. DeSoto Central (Southaven, MS) 34-3 F
  3. New Hanover (Wilmington, NC) 28-2 F
  4. Barbe (Lake Charles, LA) 38-3 F
  5. Cypress (Cypress, CA) 31-3 F
  6. De La Salle (Concord, CA) 29-1 F
  7. Georgetown (Georgetown, TX) 40-4-1
  8. Blanchard (Blanchard, OK) 39-0 F
  9. Farragut (Knoxville, TN) 42-3 F
10. Calvary Christian (Clearwater, FL) 26-4 F
11. Lake Travis (Austin, TX) 37-4
12. Colleyville Heritage (Colleyville, TX) 37-3
13. Valley Christian (San Jose, CA) 29-4 F
14. Parkview (Lilburn, GA) 35-4 F
15. Delbarton (Morristown, NJ) 25-3
16. Jesuit (Tampa, FL) 27-5 F
17. Benedictine (Richmond, VA) 28-2 F
18. St. Laurence (Burbank, IL) 31-5
19. Desert Oasis (Las Vegas, NV) 34-8 F
20. Volcano Vista (Albuquerque, NM) 25-5 F
21. Hamilton (Chandler, AZ) 26-7 F
22. Regis Jesuit (Aurora, CO) 25-6 F
23. Andrean (Merrillville, IN) 34-1
24. Venice (Venice, FL) 26-6 F
25. Tattnall Square Academy (Macon, GA) 35-3 F
26. Cypress Ranch (Cypress, TX) 34-6-1 F
27. St. Thomas Aquinas (Ft. Lauderdale, FL) 24-4 F
28. Mosley (Lynn Haven, FL) 25-4 F
29. Harvard-Westlake (Studio City, CA) 27-6-1 F
30. Sam Houston (Lake Charles, LA) 37-5 F