NCAA Div. I Pre-Season All-Americans

PrintTUCSON, Ariz. — The 2014 Louisville Slugger Pre-Season All-Americans were announced which feature a remarkable mix of talented NCAA Division I baseball players across the USA.

The teams, chosen by Collegiate Baseball, feature five starting pitchers with a combined 2.07 ERA. LHP Carlos Rodon of N.C. State struck out a nation-leading 184 batters last season and is the projected National Player of The Year in 2014. He also is projected to be the first player chosen in next June’s Free Agent Draft.

RHP Thomas Eshelman of Cal. St. Fullerton set an all-time NCAA Division I record with only 3 walks allowed over 115 2/3 innings. He also ranked first in the nation in strikeout to walk ratio (27.67) with 83 strikeouts.

UCLA Closer David BergUCLA closer David Berg set an NCAA Division I record last season with 24 saves. He also posted 7 wins and had a 0.92 ERA in 51 appearances. Mississippi State’s Jonathan Holder had 21 saves last season and a 1.65 ERA in 34 appearances with 90 strikeouts and 17 walks over 54 2/3 innings. Closer Nick Burdi of Louisville has a 101 mph fastball which allowed him to strike out 62 batters over 35 2/3 innings.

The first team offense features power, line drive hitters, speed and a number of talented defensive athletes. C Kyle Schwarber of Indiana led first teamers with 18 homers. OF D.J. Stewart of Florida St. had 25 doubles and 59 RBI. SS Trea Turner of N.C. State swiped 30 bases.

For complete stats of all 2014 Louisville Slugger Pre-Season All-Americans, CLICK HERE.

First Team
RHP Aaron Nola (Louisiana St.)

LHP Carlos Rodon (N.C. State)
RHP Tyler Beede (Vanderbilt)
RHP Thomas Eshelman (Cal. St. Fullerton)
RHP Justin Garza (Cal. St. Fullerton)
Relief David Berg (UCLA)
Relief Jonathan Holder (Mississippi St.)
Relief Nick Burdi (Louisville)
C Kyle Schwarber (Indiana)
1B Casey Gillaspie (Wichita St.)
2B Ross Kivett (Kansas St.)
3B Dustin DeMuth (Indiana)
SS Trea Turner (N.C. State)
OF Michael Conforto (Oregon St.)
OF Bradley Zimmer (San Francisco)
OF D.J. Stewart (Florida St.)
UT Clinton Freeman (East Tennessee St.)

Second Team
RHP Trent Thornton (North Carolina)

LHP Ryan Kellogg (Arizona St.)
LHP Harrison Musgrave (West Virginia)
RHP Andrew Moore (Oregon St.)
LHP Bryan Radziewski (Miami, Fla.)
RHP Andrew Morales (U.C. Irvine)
RHP Luke Weaver (Florida St.)
RHP  Zech Lemond (Rice)
LHP Matt Imhof (Cal Poly)
RHP Karson Whitson (Florida)
RHP Scott Baker (Ball St.)
LHP Ben Wetzler (Oregon St.)
Relief Ryan Thompson (Campbell)
Relief Ryan Burr (Arizona St.)
C Mark Zagunis (Virginia Tech.)
C Grayson Greiner (South Carolina)
1B Sam Travis (Indiana)
1B Connor Spencer (U.C. Irvine)
2B Conor Brown (James Madison)
3B Joey Pankake (South Carolina)
SS Alex Bregman (Louisiana St.)
OF Skye Bolt (North Carolina)
OF Dylan Davis (Oregon St.)
OF/1B Mike Papi (Virginia)
UT Drew Reynolds (East Carolina)

Third Team
RHP Jeff Hoffman (East Carolina)

RHP Brandon Finnegan (Texas Christian)
LHP Cole Irvin (Oregon)
LHP Garrett Cleavinger (Oregon)
RHP Daniel Gossett (Clemson)
LHP P.J. Conlon (San Diego)
RHP James Kaprielian (UCLA)
RHP Tommy Lawrence (Maine)
LHP Joey DeNato (Indiana)
RHP Dan Savas (Illinois St.)
RHP T.J. Renda (Alabama St.)
Relief Scott Schultz (Oregon St.)
Relief Trace Dempsey (Ohio St.)
Relief Jake Matthys (Kansas St.)
Relief Ross Mitchell (Mississippi St.)
Relief Matt Troupe (Arizona)
Relief Brian Miller (Vanderbilt)
Relief Travis Stout (Jacksonville St.)                                                    
C Brett Austin (N.C. State)

C Conor Joe (San Diego)
1B Cole Lankford (Texas A&M)
1B Zach Stephens (Tennessee Tech.)
1B Jacob Hoyle (Western Carolina)
2B Jason Blum (S.E. Missouri St.)
3B Alex Blandino (Stanford)
3B Taylor Sparks (U.C. Irvine)
3B Chesny Young (Mercer)
SS Aaron Attaway (Western Carolina)
SS Tyler Vaughn (Troy)
SS Luke Tendler (North Carolina A&T)
OF Brandon Downes (Virginia)
OF Derek Fisher (Virginia)
OF Matt Shortall (Texas-Arlington)
OF Michael Bishop (Jacksonville St.)
OF Caleb Adams (La.-Lafayette)
UT Josh Dezse (Ohio St.)
UT Ashton Perritt (Liberty)
UT A.J. Reed (Kentucky)