Tim Corbin Named National Coach Of Year

TUCSON, Ariz. — Vanderbilt Head Baseball Coach Tim Corbin has been named National Coach of The Year by Collegiate Baseball newspaper.Tim Corbin Vanderbilt Mug

One of the most respected coaches in college baseball, Corbin led the Commodores to their first national baseball championship at the recent College World Series with a 3-2 win over Virginia.

Corbin led Vanderbilt to a 51-21 overall record and has now guided the Commodores to 10 NCAA Regionals (eight straight), four Super Regionals and two College World Series appearances. He ranks second on the all-time Commodores’ win list with 516 victories since taking over the program in 2003.

Vanderbilt compiled 17 stolen bases in 23 attempts over seven College World Series games. That is tied for the highest stolen base total ever at a College World Series with Oklahoma State in 1955. During the entire NCAA Division I tournament, the Commodores swiped 29 bases in 37 attempts. On the flip side, opponents were only successful in 3 of 6 attempts against Vanderbilt.

Corbin finished his 12th season at the helm of the Vanderbilt baseball program. He has turned the Commodores into a national power and taken the program to unprecedented success leading Vanderbilt to the College World Series in 2014 and 2011.

Beyond his national championship in 2014, he led Vanderbilt to one of its best seasons in school history in 2013. The Commodores matched the school record with a 54-12 mark and smashed the Southeastern Conference record, finishing the conference slate with an amazing 26-3 record.
In addition to the on field successes, the baseball program itself has had significant upgrades to the facilities with a new field house, complete with new locker rooms for players, coaches and Commodore alums playing professional baseball. Also included are coach’s offices, a classroom that overlooks Hawkins Field and a new weight room.

In 2009, permanent seats in the outfield pushed Hawkins Field seating capacity to double the amount when Corbin arrived in 2003. These upgrades reinforced the excitement and commitment made to the baseball program due to the successes Corbin had achieved. In the latest facility improvement the playing surface at Hawkins Field was replaced during the summer of 2012 with a synthetic surface. The timing of the change to turf was perfect as the Commodores played multiple games in bad weather during the 2013 season.

Corbin, along with his coaching staff, are a tireless group that saw their recruiting efforts pay in 2005, 2011 and 2012 as their recruiting classes was labeled the nation’s best.

Professional baseball has also taken notice of the program with nine Commodores being selected in the first round since 2003. Before Corbin was hired as the 21st coach in program history, Vanderbilt had not earned a spot in the conference tournament in a decade but made the post-season tournament in 2004.
Corbin came to Vanderbilt following nine seasons as an assistant coach at Clemson. During his time there (1994-2002), the Tigers had more victories than all but four programs.
Prior to his time at Clemson, Corbin was head coach at Presbyterian College for six seasons beginning in 1988. There he restarted a baseball program that had been dormant for several years. He directed Presbyterian College from NAIA to NCAA Division II status and had a 106-138 overall record. Along the way, the Blue Hose made three consecutive appearances in the South Atlantic playoffs (1991-93), and Corbin earned South Atlantic Coach of the Year honors in 1990.

Previous Collegiate Baseball National Coaches of The Year include:

• 2013: John Savage, UCLA
• 2012: Andy Lopez, Arizona
• 2011: Ray Tanner, South Carolina
• 2010: Ray Tanner, South Carolina
• 2009: Paul Mainieri, Louisiana St.
• 2008: Mike Batesole, Fresno St.
• 2007: Pat Casey, Oregon St.
• 2006: Pat Casey, Oregon St.
• 2005: Augie Garrido, Texas
• 2004: George Horton, Cal. St. Fullerton
• 2003: Wayne Graham, Rice
• 2002: Augie Garrido, Texas
• 2001: Jim Morris, Miami (Fla.)
• 2000: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
• 1999: Jim Morris, Miami (Fla.)
• 1998: Mike Gillespie, Southern Calif.
aaaaaaMike Batesole, Cal. St. Northridge
• 1997: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
• 1996: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.,
aaaaaaAndy Lopez, Florida
• 1995: Augie Garrido, Cal. St. Fullerton
• 1994: Larry Cochell, Oklahoma
• 1993: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
• 1992: Andy Lopez, Pepperdine
• 1991: Skip Bertman, Louisiana St.
• 1990: Steve Webber, Georgia
• 1989: Dave Snow, Long Beach St.
• 1988: Larry Cochell, Cal. St. Fullerton
• 1987: Mark Marquess, Stanford
• 1986: Jerry Kindall, Arizona
• 1985: Ron Fraser, Miami (Fla.)
• 1984: Augie Garrido, Cal. St. Fullerton
• 1983: Cliff Gustafson, Texas
• 1982: Ron Fraser, Miami (Fla.)
• 1981: Jim Brock, Arizona St.
• 1980: Jerry Kindall, Arizona